HM Baden Spiegelgesamtneu

Magnificent Standing Mirror 19th Century

From the „Karslruhe Castle” in Germany, collection of the important Grand Duke and Margrave from Baden-Baden

This very rare Stand­ing or Tilt­ing Mir­ror is of excep­tion­al, high-qual­i­ty crafts­man­ship, exquis­ite­ly carved and leaf gilded.

Raised from a rich­ly orna­men­tal and Acan­thus leaves dec­o­rat­ed base, scrolling feet with lit­tle wheels, and con­nect­ed by a Rocaille embell­ished joint. Two beau­ti­ful­ly carved and rich­ly dec­o­rat­ed ris­ing pil­lars, ter­mi­nat­ing in very fine­ly craft­ed, winged drag­ons, sup­port the gilt framed mir­ror plate on both side with large, embell­ished fit­tings.

The exquis­ite­ly carved, rich­ly dec­o­rat­ed mir­ror frame has a won­der­ful­ly craft­ed car­touche on the low­er part and fin­ish­es in a lav­ish­ly exe­cut­ed crown in the roco­co style. Orna­ments, sea waves, car­touche shaped ele­ments, and vivid­ly carved drag­ons are exquis­ite­ly com­bined and once again show the extra­or­di­nary crafts­man­ship of this stun­ning object of sig­nif­i­cant prove­nance.
Inven­to­ry label: Schloss — Inven­tar Karl­sruhe

An impres­sive, extreme­ly rare piece with out­stand­ing provenance! 

More about the history:

The Karl­sruhe Schloss (cas­tle), built in the Baroque style at the begin­ning of 1715, was from then on the res­i­dence of Mar­grave Karl Wil­helm von Baden-Durlach. Up until 1918 it served as a res­i­den­tial palace for the Mar­graves and Grand Dukes of Baden, Ger­many. In the years 1843 to 1847, Grand Duke Leopold (17901852) restruc­tured parts of the Karl­sruhe cas­tle. The fur­ni­ture was adapt­ed to the zeit­geist of the time and redesigned with objects from the 1840s. Grand Duke Friedrich I (1826 — 1907) then redesigned the for­mer apart­ments of Elec­tor Carl Friedrich (1728 — 1811) and Louise Car­o­line von Hochberg (1768 — 1820) in the Roco­co style for his wife Luise Princess of Prus­sia (1838 — 1923). 

This mag­nif­i­cent mir­ror, which was prob­a­bly com­mis­sioned by the Elec­toral House, also dates from this era.

18 10 21 338 Edit
Magnificent Mirror from the 19th Century H: 273 cm, W: 122 cm, D: 98 cm 
18 10 21 349 Edit
18 10 21 351 Edit
18 10 21 346 Edit

HM Baden Spiegelgesamtneu

Prunkstandspiegel 19. Jahrhundert

Mit bedeutender Provenienz aus dem Karlsruher Schloss und Besitz der Markgrafen und Großherzöge von Baden

Der prunk­volle große Stand- bzw. Schwenkspiegel ist in her­vor­ra­gen­der Qual­ität beschnitzt und blattver­gold­et aus­ge­führt. Der schwenkbare Spiegel ste­ht auf je zwei zusam­men­laufend­en, mit Ges­im­sen, Orna­menten und Akan­thus gezierten und mit Rollen verse­henen Füßen, welche durch einen, in Rocail­len­form gezierten Steg, ver­bun­den sind.

Die bei­den reich orna­men­tal und flo­ral beschnitzten aus den Fußkon­struk­tio­nen nach oben streben­den Säulen, in denen der Spiegel mit­tels großer, verziert­er Ver­schraubun­gen mon­tiert ist, enden mit fein aus­ge­führten, geflügel­ten Drachen. Der Spiegel­rah­men ist im unteren Bere­ich kun­stvoll in Kar­tuschen, Blüten und Blat­tfor­men deko­ri­ert und ver­läuft in fein geschnitzter Orna­men­tik bis zur Bekrönung.

Die Bekrö­nung, überquel­lend in ihrer Orna­men­tik, mit Rocaillen Blat­twerk und traumhaft aus­ge­führten Meereswellen mit Schaumkro­nen im Stile des Rokokos aus­ge­führt, wird bei­d­seit­ig von Ges­im­sen, auf denen vollplas­tis­che geschnitzte Drachen in bewegter Hal­tung sitzen, begrenzt. 

Inventaretikett: Schloss — Inven­tar Karlsruhe

Ein imposan­ter äußerst sel­tener Prunk­spiegel mit bedeu­ten­der Provenienz!

Mehr zum geschichtlichen Hintergrund:

Das mit Beginn des Jahres 1715 im Stile des Barocks erbaute Karl­sruher Schloss, war von da an die Res­i­denz des Mark­grafen Karl Wil­helm von Baden-Durlach. Bis zu Jahre 1918 diente als Res­i­den­zschloss für die Mark­grafen und Großherzöge von Baden. In den Jahren 18431847 ließ Großher­zog Leopold (1790- 1852) Teile des Karl­sruher Schloß umgestal­ten. Das Mobil­iar wurde dem dama­li­gen Zeit­geist angepasst und mit Objek­ten der 1840iger Jahre neu gestal­tet. Großher­zog Friedrich I (1826 — 1907) ließ danach für seine Gemahlin Luise Prinzessin von Preußen (1838 — 1923) die ehe­ma­li­gen Apart­ments von Kur­fürst Carl Friedrich (1728 — 1811) und Louise Car­o­line von Hochberg (1768 — 1820) im Stile des Rokokos umgestalten. 

Aus dieser Epoche entspringt auch vor­liegen­der Prunk­spiegel, welch­er ver­mut­lich als Auf­tragsar­beit für das Kur­fürsten­haus gefer­tigt wurde.

18 10 21 338 Edit
Prunkstandspiegel H: 273 cm, B: 122 cm, T: 98 cm
18 10 21 349 Edit
18 10 21 351 Edit
18 10 21 346 Edit